# FIRE DIVISION - 2016/2017 SESSION MINUTES OF THE 10<sup>th</sup> ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

The 10<sup>th</sup> Annual General Meeting (AGM) of the Fire Division was held on Monday, May 8 of 2017 at 6:00pm in the James Chiu & Dragages Rooms, the HKIE Headquarters, 9/F, Island Beverley, No 1 Great George Street, Causeway Bay, Hong Kong with the attendance exceeding the minimum required quorum.

1. To receive the minutes of the 9<sup>th</sup> AGM

The minutes of the 9<sup>th</sup> AGM was briefed in the AGM without any amendment.

All present unanimously agreed to accept the minutes as a true record.

2. Chairman's annual report on the activities of the Division for 2016/2017 session

Chairman Ir Edmond TSE Ping Ho presented the activities and functions held during 2016/2017 session as per the attached chairman's report. Acceptance of the report was proposed by Ir Gilbert LAW Kam Cheong and seconded by Ir Wilson TSANG Sau Kit. All present unanimously agreed to accept the report.

3. To receive the Honorary Treasurer's Financial Statement of the Division for the 2016/2017 Session.

The Honorary Treasurer Ir HO Kwok Fu presented the Division's financial statement for the 2016/2017 session. As there was no comment from the members, Ir VONG Kai Va proposed to accept the financial report and was seconded by Ir Charles CHU. All present unanimously agreed to accept the report.

4. To elect the Chairman and Ordinary Members of the Division Committee for the 2017/2018 Session

Chairman Edmond TSE Ping-ho briefed the AGM on the election the Chairman and Ordinary Members of the Fire Division Committee for Session 2017/2018.

#### **Division Chairman**

The outgoing Division Committee has decided to nominate Ir Wilson TSANG Sau Kit for election as the Chairman for Session 2017/2018.

No other nomination has been received from members by the nomination deadline. It was unanimously agreed in the AGM.

## **Ordinary Members**

The outgoing Division Committee has decided to opt for the maximum of 14 Ordinary Members under Clause 7.2(c) of the Division Rules and one Ordinary Member under Clause 7.2(d) of the Division Rules, and five Ordinary Members in the Committee shall retire by end of the Session, namely, Ir Prof CHAN Siu Lai, Ir HO Kwok Fu, Ir Dr Fiona TSUI Suk Chong, Ir Dr LUO Ming Chun and Ir Elmen CHU Hing Chuen.

Following the retirement of the above Ordinary Members, there are five vacancies for the Ordinary Members. The Division Committee has decided to nominate the following candidates for the Ordinary Members for a three-year term: Ir Prof CHAN Siu Lai, Ir HO Kwok Fu, Ir Dr Fiona TSUI Suk Chong and Ir ELMEN CHU Hing Chuen.

As the number of nominations for the Ordinary Members is less than the number of vacancies, a ballot shall not be held. It was unanimously agreed in the AGM.

#### 5. Council Member (Division) for Session 2017/2018

Since Ir LAU Chi Kin had been nominated as Council Member (Division) for Sessions 2015/2016 and 2016/2017, Ir LAU Chi Kin would retire as Council Member (Division) in the coming session and a new Council Member would be anticipated in the coming session.

#### 6. Incoming Chairman's Address

A speech was delivered by the newly elected Chairman Ir Wilson TSANG Sau Kit.

### 7. Any Other Business

Ir Paul CHAN proposed to thank the past Chairman Ir Edmond TSE Ping Ho and all committee members. This proposal was accepted. AGM was adjourned at 6:45 p.m.

Ir Prof CHAN Siu Lai Honorary Secretary (2016/2017)