## FIRE DIVISION - 2018/2019 SESSION MINUTES OF THE 12<sup>th</sup> ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

The 12<sup>th</sup> Annual General Meeting (AGM) of the Fire Division was held on Tuesday, May 7 of 2019 at 6:15pm in the Chan Yat Mei Sophie Room, the HKIE Headquarters, 9/F, Island Beverley, No 1 Great George Street, Causeway Bay, Hong Kong with the attendance exceeding the minimum required quorum.

1. To receive and confirm the minutes of the 11<sup>th</sup> AGM

The minutes of the 11<sup>th</sup> AGM, circulated earlier, were briefed at the AGM without any amendment. Acceptance of the minutes was proposed by Ir Wilson TSANG Sau Kit and seconded by Ir Gilbert LAW. All present unanimously agreed to accept the minutes as a true record (Appendix A).

2. To receive and adopt the Annual Report of the Division for Session 2018/2019

The Chairman Ir Jacky K Y CHIONG presented the activities and functions held during 2018/2019 Session. The Annual Report was attached to the 2<sup>nd</sup> Notification of 12<sup>th</sup> AGM on April 26 2019 for members' reference. Acceptance of the report was proposed by Ir Professor CHAN Siu Lai and seconded by Ir TAM Tai Keung. All present unanimously agreed to adopt the Report (Appendix B).

3. To receive and adopt the Financial Statement of the Division for Session 2018/2019

The Honorary Treasurer Ir HO Kwok Fu presented the Division's Financial Statement for Session 2018/2019. As the Financial Statement was sound and healthy, there was no comment from the members. Ir VONG Ka Va proposed to accept the Statement, which was seconded by Ir Paul CHAN. After voting, majority present agreed to adopt the Statement.

4. To elect the Chairman and Ordinary Members of the Division Committee for Session 2019/2020

The Chairman Ir Jacky K Y CHIONG briefed at the AGM on the election of the Chairman and Ordinary Members of the Fire Division Committee for Session 2019/2020.

## Division Chairman

The outgoing Division Committee had decided to nominate Ir Thomas CHUNG Chit Chun for election as the Chairman for Session 2019/2020.

No other nomination has been received from members by the nomination deadline.

## Ordinary Members – under Clause 7.2(c) of the Division Rule

The outgoing Division Committee had decided to opt for the maximum of 14 Ordinary Members; and 6 Ordinary Members in the Committee shall retire by end of the Session, namely:

Ir Thomas CHUNG Chit Chun Ir Wilson KWOK Wai Shun Ir Benny LAI Siu Lun Ir TSE Shu Lung Ir Albert YAU Tat Hing Ir Dr YUEN Sai Wing

Following the retirement of the above Ordinary Members, there were 6 vacancies for the Ordinary Members.

The outgoing Division Committee had decided to nominate the slate candidates for the Ordinary Members for a three-year term as follows:

Ir Wilson KWOK Wai Shun Ir Benny LAI Siu Lun Ir TSE Shu Lung Ir Albert YAU Tat Hing Ir Dr YUEN Sai Wing Ir Professor CHAN Siu Lai

No other nomination has been received from members by the nomination deadline.

Ordinary Members – under Clause 7.2(d) of the Division Rule (i.e. Ordinary Member of the Committee who is of 35 years of age or below)

Ir Jan TO Chi Wing shall retire by end of the Session. Following the retirement of Ir Jan TO Chi Wing, there was one vacancy for the Ordinary Member. The outgoing Division Committee had decided to nominate Ir YEUNG Shing Yam for election as the Ordinary Member for a three-year term. No other nomination had been received from the members by the nomination deadline.

As the number of nominations for the Chairman and Ordinary Members is equal to the number of vacancies, no ballot was held. It was proposed by Ir Paul CHAN, seconded by Ir Wilson TSANG Sau Kit, and unanimously agreed to the election of Chairman and Ordinary Members at the AGM.

5. To elect the Council Member (Division) for Session 2019/2020 and 2020/2021

The outgoing Division Committee had decided to nominate Ir Edmond TSE Ping Ho for election as the Council Member (Division) for Sessions 2019/2020 and 2020/2021.

No other nomination had been received from the members by the nomination deadline.

It was proposed by Ir Benny LAI Siu Lun, seconded by Ir Elmen CHU, and unanimously agreed to the election of Council Member (Division) at the AGM.

6. Incoming Chairman's Address

A hand-over of Chairman's Badge was conducted at this juncture. A speech was then delivered by the newly elected Chairman Ir Thomas CHUNG Chit Chun.

7. Any Other Business

There being no other business, the AGM was adjourned at 7:00 p.m.

<u>Appendices</u> Appendix A – Confirmed minutes of 11<sup>th</sup> AGM held on May 10 2018 Appendix B – Fire Division Annual Report (2018/2019)

Ir Dr Fiona TSUI Suk Chong Honorary Secretary Fire Division, HKIE Session 2018/2019 Date: May 7 2019

Ir Jacky CHIONG Chairman Fire Division, HKIE Session 2018/2019 Date: June 7 2019